Bonus Recipe Challenge

As a blogger, I’m constantly thinking of new ways to get people to my blog. (See how I just did that? ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t have to explain my reasons to you…you’re all bloggers as well and you know how it is. So, since starting Barefoot Bloggers only 2 weeks ago now, I’ve been trying to generate ideas to increase traffic to all of our blogs and since the BB blog sees about 2-3 times as much traffic per day than my personal blog, I thought that we needed to ramp up some additional activities here.

Being that we’re a bi-weekly (almost) posting group here, I realize that our Ina posts can get lost in the mix of our other posts throughout the month so I’m proposing a challenge of sorts…

Each month, the person who sends the most traffic to the BB blog from their personal blog (which I can see through my stats generator) will get to choose a bonus recipe for all of us to make if we so choose. This recipe will not be a requirement but will serve two purposes: 1.) for those way down in the list of “recipe choosers,” it’s going to be a while before you get to make your choice in the rotation so with this Bonus Recipe Challenge, you will possibly get to choose an extra recipe earlier on than you anticipated; and 2.) the more recipes we post as a group, generally, the more visitors you have to your blog – people like to see how everyone else does on these recipes.

So since we’re at the beginning of the month, June will be the first month tracking your referred traffic to BB and the first bonus recipe will be chosen for July. Essentially, all you need to do is to get people here. Stick your shameless plugs into your blogs where necessary and be sure to be post your recipe results on the 2nd and 4th Thursdays of each month. The one caveat about this Challenge is that to make this fair to everyone, you can only win the Challenge once every 4 months. If you do end up with the most traffic, say 2 months in a row, you’ll be an honorable mention in the post here but the person who brought the second best numbers in here will choose the recipe. Fair enough? Now start plugging! ๐Ÿ™‚

5 Responses

  1. Fun! I look forward to the extra recipes! (Even though I know they won’t be coming from me… I can plug this site all I want but the fact remains that only a handful of people even read my blog to begin with) ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. ooh, I’m excited too. I think half my traffic comes from the nest boards anyway ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Count me in! – Any reason to cook is a good reason

  3. Sure! You know, you may want to associate in your records (your blog list), our Flickr accounts with our blog names, so you’ll be able to combine the totals for one blogger. I’m sure many of us upload our food to Flickr and then post from there, and the Flickr posts frequently contain links and comments. Some of your bloggers may cross-post to Barefoot Bloggers from both the Flickr comments, and blog posts, to get your traffic up.

    Kate = Warm Olives = kjf916 on Flickr

  4. great idea!

  5. For our blog sidebars, will there be a Barefoot Bloggers button in the future?? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

