• Rolling Up Our Sleeves with Barefoot Contessa

    We're an [extra]ordinary group of cookers and bakers with a love of all things Ina. We'll be blogging through the recipes in How Easy Is That? as a group posting about them on each Thursday of every month.
    • Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    • Twitter Updates

      Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

    • BB Facebook Group

      If you are a current BB member and would like to join the BB Facebook group, you must send an email including your full name and blog address to barefootbloggers@gmail.com after you make your request to join on Facebook. No one will be added without an email request.
    • Header + Avatar Design

      Image and video hosting by TinyPic

    Musings: Bruschetta on a Budget

    This month’s Barefoot on a Budget recipe: Bruschetta with Sauteed Sweet Peppers and Creamy Gorgonzola. We’re posting on Sunday, May 31, but this recipe could fit in with your Memorial Day festivities. Have you found any sweet deals? Wondering about substitutions? Let’s discuss!

    11 Responses

    1. I subbed goat cheese since I had that on hand and while I didn’t use a much as the recipe called for, I thought the predominant flavor was the capers. I’ll cut those back a little next time. These were sure tasty with the peppers, though- wow!

    2. Isn’t May 31 a Sunday?

    3. @chocolatechic Yes, it is! Changed the day above. Thanks!

      Has anyone found any good deals on peppers? It’s pretty hit-or-miss here. Might take a trip to the Farmers’ Market to see if I can do better there.

    4. I always buy peppers at Sam’s Club, they sell 6 packs with 2 red, 2 orange, and 2 yellow. I love to do veggie fajitas or quesadillas with them, yum šŸ™‚

    5. I found a bag of grilled multicolored peppers in the frozen veggie section of my Super Target! I’ll be trying the recipe this weekend šŸ™‚

    6. I might sub mozzarella cheese for this, we aren’t huge fans of Gorgonzola, but I might give it a try!

    7. I wound up going to our local international foods market, and they had peppers for $1.50/pound.

    8. We used the Gorgonzola and we LOVED it. This recipe is GREAT and so tasty.

    9. we LOVED this recipe. i’m beginning to love Gorgonzola more and more and this recipe just sealed the deal!

    10. Made these tonight and wow, they are amazing! One of my new favorite Barefoot recipes for sure šŸ™‚

    11. Wow– I guess I went a very different way with mine, just keeping the sweet peppers and the bruschetta or appetizer on bread theme and making a Moroccan-style topping from things I had in my fridge, cupboard and freezer. (No searching for special ingredients, etc.) Whoops!

    Leave a Reply

    