• Rolling Up Our Sleeves with Barefoot Contessa

    We're an [extra]ordinary group of cookers and bakers with a love of all things Ina. We'll be blogging through the recipes in How Easy Is That? as a group posting about them on each Thursday of every month.
    • Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    • Twitter Updates

    • BB Facebook Group

      If you are a current BB member and would like to join the BB Facebook group, you must send an email including your full name and blog address to barefootbloggers@gmail.com after you make your request to join on Facebook. No one will be added without an email request.
    • Header + Avatar Design

      Image and video hosting by TinyPic

    September BRC Winner!

    Congrats to Anne of Anne Strawberry for being this month’s Bonus Recipe Challenge Winner!! Anne’s blog has been pumping in the referrals in the past month…and as a reflection upon Anne’s and everyone else’s referrals, we’ve added almost 15 new members to the group over the course of the last 3 weeks! Anne has been a devoted BB member – you must go over and check out what she’s been cookin’ up!

    For her Bonus Recipe, Anne has chosen (with MUCH thought going into the choice)

    Apple Turnovers

    which should be posted on Thursday, September 18th.

    I think most of us agree that its time to bring on the fall foods!!

    11 Responses

    1. Congrats Anne! I just saw Ina make this and thought it looked soo good! Unfortunately September is one of the hottest times here in Southern California so I am not entirely sure I will be making it but I can’t wait to see how everyone’s turns out!

    2. Ohh Anne, wonderful choice! My husband loves apple turnovers, he will be so excited! He’s actually picking up some apples from the orchard this evening on his way home πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to make these!

    3. Go, Anne! I’ve never made apple turnovers. This will be really fun!

    4. I hope you guys like them! I wanted something simple and delicious and hope these fit those qualifications. Plus, with the wonderful apples coming in I couldn’t resist! πŸ™‚ I know it’s not really fall yet (in AZ it’s still summer and so hot!) but with September rolling around I feel like it should be fall, lol.

    5. I love this recipe! Thanks Anne and congrats! I make them for company and they freeze really well! Apple season is getting started here….

    6. Congrats Anne πŸ™‚ These sound lovely but to tell the truth I’m not sure I’ll be making them.. this past week was a whirlwind of baking for me, as I was making three types of petit fours for my best friend’s engagement party last night, and frankly I need a break from baking. Perhaps next month though, once it cools down a bit and I’ve hopefully had time to get in my annual apple picking trip!

    7. We made these this weekend and they were very yummy. The orange adds something really nice to the apples.

      I thought the recipe made a little too much filling, but we cooked up the leftovers with a little bourbon and they made wonderful ice cream topping.

    8. I had a little left over filling but I’ll be honest. I just ate it. πŸ™‚

      If you make them, make sure the puff pastry gets a chance to chill after you roll it out and cut the squares. The ones that I let chill were much better shaped and more attractive out of the oven (though we ate them all right up!)

    9. Great selection Anne! I really enjoyed these and they were such a breeze to make πŸ™‚

    10. These were a big hit at our house. I just baked the extra pie filling in a dish along with the turnovers and my toddler ate it.

    11. I was out of town and then in the hospital, so I didn’t get these made in September. But I did finally get the chance to bake them this past Friday. Easy and delicious! Just posted pics and the results on my blog. Thanks so much for choosing these, Anne.

    Leave a comment