• Rolling Up Our Sleeves with Barefoot Contessa

    We're an [extra]ordinary group of cookers and bakers with a love of all things Ina. We'll be blogging through the recipes in How Easy Is That? as a group posting about them on each Thursday of every month.
    • Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    • Twitter Updates

    • BB Facebook Group

      If you are a current BB member and would like to join the BB Facebook group, you must send an email including your full name and blog address to barefootbloggers@gmail.com after you make your request to join on Facebook. No one will be added without an email request.
    • Header + Avatar Design

      Image and video hosting by TinyPic

    Barefoot Bloggers: Week 1

    To get the ball rolling, I’m going to start a little out of the week order. Premiering as the first Barefoot Blogger recipe (drumroll please)…

    Herbed-Baked Eggs

    found in Barefoot in Paris pages 64-65

    Because it is almost the end of the month, please post your Herbed-Baked Eggs recipe in your blogs on Friday, May 30th. We’ll begin the regular schedule starting in June. Addendum: P.S. – click on the link above for the recipe on foodnetwork.com. P.P.S. – Because this is the first week and also happens to be a holiday weekend, we’re going to make this recipe a trial recipe. If you are able to make the baked eggs and post about them on Thursday, great. If not, don’t worry about it – no need to let me know or ask for one of the “PASS”es.

    June’s recipes will be chosen by:

    1. Elizabeth of Ugg Smell Food – to be posted in your blogs on June 12th
    2. Megan of My Baking Adventures – to be posted in your blogs on June 26th

    Elizabeth and Megan, please don’t forget to email me your choices by midnight ET on Friday, May 30th.

    10 Responses

    1. yea! Great choice. I’ve been wanting to try these since I saw her make them on her show.

    2. yay!! GREAT recipe coming up on the long weekend!

      Just a couple questions/comments:

      gratin dishes? like ramekins?

      also — just a thought — but, if the recipe can be found on the FN website, maybe put a link in the blog post..

      Can’t wait!

    3. E – gratin dishes are very shallow baking dishes (maybe 1 to 1 1/2 inches high?) and can usually be found in individual sizes. i think that ramekins would be perfect though. i’m planning on using my shallow rimmed soup bowls that are oven safe.

    4. Thanks for setting this up. It will be fun to make something out of Barefoot in Paris since that’s the only one of Ina’s books I don’t have!

    5. Good choice. I just started an herb garden this spring…perfect timing for this recipe.

    6. Love this pick, I saw her make these on her show and they looked great! E- be careful if you use ramekins, mine (Corningware) are not broiler safe.

      My question on the individual ramekin/gratin dishes – what size constitutes “individual serving”?? I started looking at mine trying to gauge if 3 eggs would fit well, and I’m not good at judging by the naked eye πŸ˜‰

    7. Anyone know if Emile Henry ramekins are broiler safe?

      Chelle, I was wondering the same thing, although I haven’t looked at mine yet.

    8. Random question… can we post anytime BEFORE the 30th or do we post ON the 30th?? TIA!! πŸ™‚

    9. Horned – actually post ON the 30th – good catch! but if any has already misread what I meant and posts before the 30th, that’s fine…this is why it’s a trial week. πŸ™‚

    10. Ok, I’m actualy gonna be late on this one – I want hubby to be able to try it too, so I’m making it tomorrow morning! πŸ™‚

    Leave a comment