• Rolling Up Our Sleeves with Barefoot Contessa

    We're an [extra]ordinary group of cookers and bakers with a love of all things Ina. We'll be blogging through the recipes in How Easy Is That? as a group posting about them on each Thursday of every month.
    • Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    • Twitter Updates

    • BB Facebook Group

      If you are a current BB member and would like to join the BB Facebook group, you must send an email including your full name and blog address to barefootbloggers@gmail.com after you make your request to join on Facebook. No one will be added without an email request.
    • Header + Avatar Design

      Image and video hosting by TinyPic

    January Recipes

    Welcome to 2009!!  As we ring in the New Year, I just want to quickly and sincerely thank all of you for all of your hard work in keeping the group going and for sometimes going outside of your comfort zone to try out new recipes.  It’s been so much fun blogging with all of you during the first 7 months of the Barefoot Bloggers group!

    I think you’ll really be happy with the first recipes of the new year…as if you’ve been disappointed with all of our other recipes!  The second recipe is not yet available on FN so it is typed out below.  Enjoy!!!

    ~~~~~

    Karen of Something Sweet by Karen

    has chosen Banana Sour Cream Pancakes

    from Barefoot Contessa Family Style, page 177

    and should be posted on Thursday, January 8th.

    ~~~

    Melissa of Made by Melissa

    has chosen Easy Sticky Buns

    from Back to Basics, page 240

    and should be posted on Thursday, January 22nd.

    Makes 12
    We used to make really delicious sticky buns at Barefoot Contessa, but they took two days to make because the yeast dough needed to rise overnight in the refrigerator. I was dying to find a way to make them easier, so I decided to try baking them with Pepperidge Farm puff pastry dough, instead. OMG are they good … and they’re really easy to make! Light, flaky dough filled with brown sugar, toasted pecans, and sweet raisins — my friends go crazy when I make these.

    12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
    1/3 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed
    1/2 cup pecans, chopped in very large pieces
    1 package (17.3 ounces/2 sheets) frozen puff pastry, defrosted for the filling
    2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
    2/3 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed
    3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
    1 cup raisins

    Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Place a 12-cup standard muffin tin on a sheet pan lined with parchment paper.

    In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the 12 tablespoons butter and 1/3 cup brown sugar. Place 1 rounded tablespoon of the mixture in each of the 12 muffin cups. Distribute the pecans evenly among the 12 muffin cups on top of the butter and sugar mixture.

    Lightly flour a wooden board or stone surface. Unfold one sheet of puff pastry with the folds going left to right. Brush the whole sheet with half of the melted butter. Leaving a 1-inch border on the puff pastry, sprinkle each sheet with 1/3 cup of the brown sugar, 1 1/2 teaspoons of the cinnamon, and 1/2 cup of the raisins. Starting with the end nearest you, roll the pastry up snugly like a jelly roll around the filling, finishing the roll with the seam side down.

    Trim the ends of the roll about 1/2 inch and discard. Slice the roll in 6 equal pieces, each about 1 1/2 inches wide. Place each piece, spiral side up, in 6 of the muffin cups. Repeat with the second sheet of puff pastry to make 12 sticky buns.

    Bake for 30 minutes, until the sticky buns are golden to dark brown on top and firm to the touch. Allow to cool for 5 minutes only, invert the buns onto the parchment paper (ease the filling and pecans out onto the buns with a spoon), and cool completely.

    ~~~~~

    10 Responses

    1. I’m so excited to join you all this month! Looks like I might have to host a brunch with these two yummy breakfast recipes.

    2. I have made the Banana Sour Cream Pancakes. They were astoundingly good. Yikes there goes the diet already!

      And I was just looking at the Easy Sticky Buns earlier this evening before I looked at this post, thinking about making them this Sunday. Awesome picks.

    3. Cynthia I was thinking the same thing!! I thought for January I could lay off the baked goods. Guess not!

    4. Fun choices! I’ve been crazy without a kitchen for the last few weeks but look forward to making these. My husband will love those pancakes, too! 🙂 Thanks for the fun recipes!

    5. I just made the pancakes this morning, but used Greek Yogurt and skim milk. They still tasted fab!

    6. The pancakes were amazingly delicious. I don’t know if I’ll ever want plain old pancakes again.

    7. LOVED the pancakes! What a great choice. I made mine for dinner last night. My husband wasn’t crazy about them (he said he could taste the sour cream too much), but I thought they were awesome!

    8. I took my puff pastry dough out of the refrigerator last weekend to defrost and then didn’t have a chance to make these. Can I still use it or do I need to buy a new package?

    9. […] not a Barefooter already… shame on you… join while you’re over there getting the recipe.  You’ll love […]

    10. I love food that makes me smile, full of colors and passion. Thank You!

    Leave a comment