September Recipes

A little late posting this but not without some fun recipes this month!  Oddly enough, we have two birthday girls choosing recipes this month and guess what they both chose??  CAKE!!  The two cake recipes are different recipes but I encourage you to make them both, compare them, mix up the fillings, icings, forms, etc. and if it’s too much to have so much cake at home this month, half the recipes or make the full recipes and freeze some cake, bring them to work, or send them with your spouses.  Don’t feel like skipping here is ok just because we’re making two cake recipes…and I think it would be fantastic to see some comparison posts this month.  So in addition to thanking Susy and Mary for choosing a couple of great recipes, don’t forget to wish them a Happy Birthday too!!

~~~~~

Susy of Everyday Gourmet

has chosen Birthday Sheet Cake

which can be found in Barefoot Contessa Family Style on page 216

and should be posted on Thursday, September 10th.

~~~

Mary of Passionate Perseverance

has chosen Beatty’s Chocolate Cake

which can be found in Barefoot Contessa at Home on pages 165-166

and should be posted on Thursday, September 24th.

~~~~~

18 Responses

  1. Oooooh…Beatty’s Chocolate Cake is one of my most favorite cakes ever!!! I will be happy to make that one. 🙂

  2. Beatty’s Chocolate Cake has been on my to do list for a long time! Happy birthday, Mary & Susy!

  3. I was debating between the sheet cake and Beattys chocolate cake. I decided on the sheet cake so the kids could decorate for me : ) Wouldn’t that have been funny if Mary and I both chose the same cake!

  4. How funny, 2 chocolate cakes. I’ve also been meaning to try Beatthy’s Chocolate cake, so i’m excited.

  5. Beatty’s Chocolate cake is amazing. I’ve made it many times to rave reviews. Can’t wait to make the sheet cake.

  6. I just joined and am so excited to get baking. I don’t think I even own a sheet pan! Poor me, will have to go shopping. 🙂

  7. It’s my birthday this month as well so here’s to baking myself two cakes! LOL. Sounds good to me 🙂

  8. this cake is our new family “birthday cake” I have changed the frosting only b/c I did not have all the ingredients but very moist and decedant…. My son has a birthday this month so i will be baking

  9. Speaking of running late…I finally got my pizza post up!

    http://wokthroughthefire.blogspot.com/2009/08/barefoot-bloggers-white-pizza-with.html

    Looking forward to the cake recipes now!

  10. My hubby’s birthday is in a couple of weeks, so the cake recipe is really handy. Can anyone tell me if you think the sheet cake would work on 9-inch round cake? I would like to make 2-layers cake and decorate it. Thanks!

  11. Hi everyone! I’m new here, but excited to get started. My son’s birthday is this month, also. He requested a chocolate cake, so I will be making Beatty’s for our family and the sheet cake I will make for his party with his friends. Perfect! Happy birthday to all of the September peeps! I’m looking forward to seeing how creative everyone gets with these recipes.

  12. Wow, that’s a lot of cake. We really don’t eat much cake at home, but my office has a small party every month for all of the employees who have birthdays in that month, so I’m thinking I’ll volunteer to provide the cake this month and just bring these in 🙂

    I’m going to try to think of a more interesting flavor combination for both of these I think. The reviews on foodnetwork.com for the Birthday Sheet cake are generally not good, and there’s a lot of suggestions for how to “fix” it, which I will definitely work in when I make it. (The biggest issue seems to be that the ratio of flour to baking soda is wrong and produces a dry cake – I’d recommend everyone go and read the recipe reviews before making this.)

  13. It’s my birthday too this month, so 2 cakes are a real treat!! Plus, the guys at my husband’s office love when I bake things and send them in (even the complete failure stuff!), so it will go to a good “home” regardless!

  14. Thanks for the tip about the baking soda, Erica!

  15. I think I’m going to make cupcakes–those seem to be easier to “get rid of” and I haven’t made any forever. Yay cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

