• Rolling Up Our Sleeves with Barefoot Contessa

    We're an [extra]ordinary group of cookers and bakers with a love of all things Ina. We'll be blogging through the recipes in How Easy Is That? as a group posting about them on each Thursday of every month.
    • Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    • Twitter Updates

    • BB Facebook Group

      If you are a current BB member and would like to join the BB Facebook group, you must send an email including your full name and blog address to barefootbloggers@gmail.com after you make your request to join on Facebook. No one will be added without an email request.
    • Header + Avatar Design

      Image and video hosting by TinyPic

    September Recipes

    I hope you all have been enjoying your summers and that you’re gearing up for some fabulous fall recipes! I realize that September is still technically considered summer, and in most places in the US, it definitely still feels like summer but I think many of us in the foodie/blogging world are ready for some hearty, fall food.

    ~~~

    Grown Up Mac and Cheese

    as chosen by Heather of Randomosity and the Girl

    **If anyone knows if this recipe comes from one of Ina’s cookbooks, please let me know!**

    which should be posted on Thursday September 11th.

    ~~~

    Cream of Wild Mushroom Soup

    as chosen by Chelle of Brown Eyed Baker

    which can be found in Barefoot Contessa at Home, page 48

    which should be posted on Thursday September 25th.

    ~~~

    Ā 

    17 Responses

    1. Oh wow, those recipes sound amazing! What perfect picks to start fall with, I can’t wait to try them!

    2. Wow, awesome choices!!

    3. Woohoo, great recipes for my first month with the Barefoot Bakers šŸ™‚ J’s even been requesting mushroom soup lately, so this should make him happy.

    4. Ack, I mean Barefoot BLOGGERS – sorry, was just reading the Daring Bakers blogroll for the month and it got stuck in my head!

    5. Great choices, I can’t wait!

    6. I love you, Chelle. šŸ™‚

    7. Mama mia, what luscious choices. I might have to make them both. Tonight. Or even for lunch. Or mid morning snack. NOW:)

    8. I can’t wait to try the mac & cheese … I think that will be our dinner one night this week!

    9. Mac and cheese with bacon?! I am so all over this one. You know, I am not a fan of mushrooms, but when I watched Ina make this, I wanted to try it. Good choices ladies!

    10. I am soooo there! Great choices!

    11. o.m.g. yum!

    12. yay! i’ve made the grown up mac and cheese and it is divine. and just a heads up, it makes wayyy more than 2 servings!!

      also – i am not a mushroom fan, really. the only mushrooms i ate when i was little were gross, slimy, brown, button mushrooms, like the stuff in a can that comes on cheap pizza. i have had portibellos before and have enjoyed then, and skitake too. can someone tell me what cremini or porcini taste like? if they don’t taste like button mushrooms, i might give this soup a try.

    13. Great choices guys! So nice for heading into Fall.

    14. Oh goodie! I like both choices this month!

    15. Any ideas for something to use other than mushrooms? I know I’m strange, but mushrooms are the only veggie I don’t like. Hmmm…

    16. What great choices! I have made the soup before and it is divine! Mel, why not try broccoli, or really any veg you do like. Katie, give it a try. These mushrooms are very rich, earthy and meaty tasting.
      Can’t wait to make these!

    17. Drat. I came in after the mac’n’cheese, and no one in this house likes mushrooms, except myself…..

    Leave a comment